Why I love teaching!

The Treadmill of Happiness!photo © 2007 Peter Burgess | more info (via: Wylio)The last two days have been our annual teachers’ convention. It is a time to to run into colleagues that we haven’t necessarily talked to in a long time. A time to enjoy some good presentations by many different people and just generally to peruse the displays of the various people interested in selling us stuff. Generally I find teachers’ convention something that I look forward to on an annual basis because it can be so hard to actually have a real conversation on education issues unhindered by time constraints and requirements of meetings. This year was no different and you might think that that would be the reason for me titling this entry the way that I did, but that’s not entirely true.

In truth I have found this year very trying for so many reasons, and in so many ways have found myself feeling inadequate about the job that I am doing and pulled in far too many directions at once. More than most years I have found it stressing, and no doubt it is one of the reasons why I have had such a hard time motivating myself to, among other things, make more entries on this blog. Sometimes it’s just an overwhelming exhaustion.

Yesterday however I happened to have two chance encounters that really helped re-invigorate my feelings toward what I am doing. I ran into two people I hadn’t seen in a long time, but this time they were former students of mine. Wow, what a great feeling to run into them. They reminded me that what I’m doing has actually, ACTUALLY, had an impact on someone’s life. Unfortunately , at least initially, I barely remembered both these students, but in some ways that was also good. These were students that weren’t necessarily ‘stars’ in my class, and in both cases had provided me with some challenging moments (in retrospect, after scraping the callouses off my gray matter). Yet there they were, one who has become a teacher and who is beginning his career, and told me that it was because of some advice that I had given him. What advice that was, I can’t quite remember, but the fact that he took it to heart, and is now such a professional looking, happy member of our profession left me speechless, and deeply honoured. The other was a student who I thought had no interest at all in social studies, that was disinterested and sometimes hostile to it. Turns out she likes arguing (something I think I remember) and she had decided to try a political science course just to see what it was like (apparently she didn’t hate social studies completely). It turned out she loved it and she is now studying it. To say I was speechless would be an understatement. While I was impressed with that, I was also totally impressed with the poised young woman with whom I had a wonderful conversation. In short these two very short meetings reminded me exactly why I love the job that I do. It also reminded me that the students that I have in the desks in grades 10, 11, and 12 are still becoming who they will be in life, and there’s still lots of growing going on! Maybe I don’t influence every student in my class, but I have apparently influenced some, and that is what made this last two days totally worth, and what makes this job totally worth it!

One response to “Why I love teaching!

  1. I know just what you’re talking about. A few years back I had a “problem” student. My class (and the program I ran) connected him to school. I recently saw him. He told me about his best friend from those days being dead, other friends in jail. He is in the police academy. I had the widest smile you’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

